What is a saltwater flyfishing guide?

I have been thinking about this a lot lately. I got a good response to a post on a msg brd where I showed three redfish tails in one picture.

While I did not take the photo, it was taken by a friend of mine in a place I told him about ,and was an example of what I had seen there the previous night. I worked hard for a lot of years to do the kind of fishing I do (ultra shallow water sight casting to red drum). In that time there have been empty days, lots of mud on my shoes and scratches on my boat. But when I have a charter, I have a pretty good idea of what I want to do, where I want to go and when I want to be there. I don’t need to call somebody else to ask him where the fish are. I have the perfect boat and I work hard to put people on fish. My boat gets shallower than a trolling motor will run and a heavy bay boat drafts too much water. If you really want to catch red drum in shallow water on a fly, these are the things you have to do. If you want to blind fish and feel the need to constantly keep casting, then a spinnerbait or gold spoon on a casting rod is a much better choice, and I know a guy who is better at that kind of fishing than anybody. If you hire a guide for a day of saltwater flyfishing and he has you blindcasting with a Spoon Fly or Copperhead to deep shorelines all day… …

A good saltwater fly guide will put you in positions to see things like this before you cast.

A waking single;

a tailer;

or a crawler:

This is what saltwater flyfishing is about… to me anyway, and why a good guide is worth every penny.

Leave a Reply

