Old stomping grounds

Headed up to visit the natal swamps and streams of my youth. After going to a high school football game on Friday night to see my Pops get inducted into their Hall of Fame (you’d think after coaching there for 40 years he would have been the first one in but he had to wait 10 years… but that’s another story) got a chance to hit some of the local streams on Saturday. I was literally 15 minutes from downtown Syracuse and maybe 10 minutes away from a Division 1 football stadium (The Carrier Dome) filled with football fans, and there I was in a perfect stream with rising trout. Caught a few early in the morning. One nice one of about 14 inches on a Shenk’s Cricket. Then went for a mid-morning break at a cool coffee shop nearby. Got ahold of Brook Wookie and he took me to Wookie Brook where we proceeded to nail a few more troutskis. Went back to the cool cafe for another break. Hit the first stream again, and there were some Isonychias flying around so I tied on the proper imitations and got this nice fish that was pretty close to 18 inches on the nymph. Probably the biggest fish I have ever caught on one of these suburban Syracuse creeks. A great day topped off with a dinner date with my stepmother and some chicken wings and football on the big TV’s at Wild Wings. Sometimes it’s good to go home. Soon enough I will find out if it is better to go home again when I get my skiff out for red dawgs again…

One thought on “Old stomping grounds

Leave a Reply

