March Madness of flyfishing: What’s the champion fish for fly anglers?

With the big tourney going on now I got to thinking about the champion fish for fly anglers. I’m not talking about the all time 100 list that one of the big national dead tree magazines just compiled. I’m talking about fish that we pursue regularly with a fly rod, not as a stunt and don’t need to be trolled up from the depths with a teaser or chummed. I would conceivably put the following fish on this list:

Atlantic Salmon,Coho Salmon,King Salmon, Muskellunge, Brook Trout, Steelhead, Rainbow Trout (I know they’re both the same fish taxonomically but you know what I’m talking about), Brown Trout, Smallmouth Bass, Largemouth Bass…

Bonefish, Permit, Tarpon, Redfish, Striped Bass, Bluefish, Little Tunny, Atlantic Bonito, Snook, Jack Crevalle…

I have caught all the fish on this list on fly except permit, atlantic salmon and muskie. If I have left out your favorite let me know. Remember, no teaser trolling and no chum, this leaves out quite a few of the big game species. I think this could lead to a long series of blog posts.

Leave a Reply

