Wade fishing with flyrod in Beaufort, NC

Low tide at ten. Nice light and a chance to do some sight fishing. I figure with the cold front we have coming at the end of the week this could be my last chance. I got there a little late and could not get my boat onto my flat so I got out and waded. I walked the whole thing and didn’t see a fish. That gave me a bad feeling. Maybe the reds were not going to use this spot anymore this year. I was bummed. I walked back to where my boat was now sitting high and dry and I noticed there was a boat that had come into the channel next to the flat and was fishing for speckled trout, and catching them. It was an old friend so I just walked over and we chatted across the channel. Of course I cast a fly out there too:

20131030-200724.jpg
I didn’t say they were monsters. I got 20 or so like this. A bite on every cast for a few minutes. I looked back to my flat and there was some action on the far end that I felt impelled to get a closer look at. As I got to within 50 yards I saw two tails waving seductively. This was what I was waiting for. I stalked closer and waited. Of course it got cloudy right at this particular moment so I cold not see anything. Then I picked up a little swirl and cast just to the side of it. Strip, little strip. Grab! Strike. Ruuuuuuunnnnnn. Yes.

20131030-201228.jpg
It was really shallow.

20131030-201330.jpg
Selfie with redfish.
After this the water got high quickly. I got in the boat and put on a jig and got this little flounder along with a few of its cousins (or at least that’s my assumption).

20131030-201726.jpg
A Carolina Inshore Slam. So there’s that.

Leave a Reply

