Trip up north- fishing and stuff

I traveled to Syracuse last week to spend some Q time with my father. Overall intent of said trip was to spend a week at a lodge on a lake in Ontario. We definitely did that but there was other stuff as well. 

We hit some walleye on Oneida Lake. As well as picking at some bass around the shoreline 

I forgot how pretty pumpkinseed sunfish are:

I hit a small stream east of town. Not much was happening with the trout there but that does not mean I didn’t enjoy it.

Then we went up north to Fernleigh Lodge on Lake Kashwamakak (yeah I know, right). We got there in the middle of a heat wave but I managed to fool a nice largemouth on a 4 wt flyrod while poking around on the dock.

Then I settled into an early morning pattern with topwaters in the early morning and evenings and deep water fishing during the middle part of the day     

After a week we went back to Cuse and I had one magical evening on a creek west of Syracuse. I picked up some flies at Mickeys Tackle Shop in North Syracuse and put them to use that evening. I caught a bunch of trout on a size 16 Elk Hair Caddis and finished with this beauty 

I actually stayed below the Posted sign and dropped it under the low hanging branch.

Now we’re home waiting for the next redfish tide.

One thought on “Trip up north- fishing and stuff

Leave a Reply

